Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 11th, 2009

Individuals generally do not realize how powerful and influential they can be if working together for one cause. People often say: ‘But what can I do? I’m just one small person’. It is true to an extent, I am just one person, but if I find more ‘one persons’, we can do something together.  

I wrote the post about Artas before; although the situation is grave over there, residents and village officials choose to live their normal lives and not to get involved in actions. I was thinking that it’s hard to understand how people can literally just live their lives whilst their land could be confiscated tomorrow. Yet, once I realized that they might be simply depressed and fed up with the situation that hasn’t changed for more than 40 years, I asked myself: ‘Can you blame them?’. They simply don’t believe anymore that the non-violent resistance might alter anything. They long for a  normal life, and thus prefer to ‘pretend’ that they actually have it. (more…)

Read Full Post »